Poem: Always Said

fresh-blackberry-with-leaves

This was an assignment during a college poetry writing class. We had about 20 minutes to write something. The professor wrote 8 to 10 random words on the board, and we were told to incorporate 5 of them in our piece. The other catch was to take a familiar saying and alter it in some way.

I’m quite proud of how this turned out. Timed writing assignments are tricky enough, without having added elements to deal with.


My mother used to say:
“Never count your blackberries
Before they’re picked.”

Her voice nagged me
As I lay under the oak tree
Listening to the birds
Playing Marco Polo
And memorizing the clouds’ images,
Faces changing from young to old
While licking the juice from my hand.

 

Note: I don’t have the official list, but I believe the five words I used from the board were: blackberry, voice, cloud, face, lick

1 thought on “Poem: Always Said”

  1. Great poem!

    “We must strive to embrace the crosses which God sends us with a willing, even joyful heart.”

    Blessed Francis Xavier Seelos

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

