Post 100: I’m a writer!

il_340x270-1134466105_pnhk

I know that by having a blog, it should be obvious that I’m a writer. However, a recent social situation has made me take a harder look at the way I see myself.

When offering an introduction to a new group of people, the words “I’m a writer” did not flow out of my mouth. For some reason, since it’s not part of my official job, it seemed strange to identify myself in this way. So, I need to be more confident in acknowledging that I am a writer. It’s not just a secret hobby; it is very much part of who I am.

I’d rather let my writing and work speak for itself, and it does, but people need to know it exists. And that’s why talking about it is so important. If you don’t publicize what you’re doing, how will others know it’s there?

Some will understand, some won’t. That’s the nature of life. But being scared to share because of the few who won’t understand? Well that’s ridiculous.

maya-angelou-quote-on-if-youre-trying-to-be-normal

About the blog

I have shared some reflections with people and always got a good response. “You’re such a good writer, Lindsay, you need to do more.”  Writing about my experiences always seemed self-serving, though, and yet self-reflection seemed to be my area of strength.

I concluded that I wanted to get to the root of my insecurities and negative self-image and do some more exploring of the impact Sensory Processing Disorder has had on my life. There had been steady improvements in addressing my communication skills, social interactions, and other things through various efforts over the years, including counseling, but I felt like my progress had reached a limit.

I knew I needed to explore more deeply about big events in my life, to better put these moments into perspective. Through the writing process I have found an added benefit of finally recognizing my courage, strength and efforts.

I’m working on highlighting moments from when I was diagnosed (age 3 or 4) with Sensory Processing Disorder to when I learned about the disorder for myself (age 27). There’s a lot of ground to cover, but it’s exciting to see the journey. 

While most of the writing on the blog has been about the social and emotional impact of this disorder, it’s also a way of exploring other topics. I’m relishing the freedom of being able to share other moments from my life, things that typically weren’t shared with others because I viewed them as unimportant or I struggled to find a way of addressing them.

If you’re scratching your head and wondering where Sensitive Giraffe comes into play, you can read about that explanation here. Giraffes and chameleons are two specific animals offering very different visuals for how I view myself.

Celebrating the journey!

I’m working to become more content with the journey and appreciating the process rather than only remaining focused on what remains to be achieved.

Thank you readers for joining the journey. Thank you to the dedicated followers, the ones who regularly stop or reach out to share feedback. Thank you to the ones who prefer to come and go quietly without drawing attention to yourselves.

I’m interested in your feedback. You can post a comment, send me an email at sensitivegiraffe@gmail.com or reach out in other ways for those who know me offline. If you need help focusing:

  • What have you read so far that has resonated with you?
  • What has meant the most?
  • Have you read anything and immediately questioned why it was included and shared?
  • Is there an area you think I haven’t hit on enough?
  • Do you have a question you’ve been meaning to ask?
  • Which poem did you really like?

If I have to pick 10 posts, here are the ones that have been the most influential to write.

  • Around the world in 15 minutes: I knew I struggled with goal setting and celebrating milestones, but this really helped me put it in perspective.
  • Spinning Rolodex: This is among a few great metaphors that I’ve been able to use to help explain the struggles of communicating. It was rewarding to find a way to relatable visual for an internal problem.
  • 6th grade: The year from hell: It was easy to group those memories into negatives, especially the bathroom problems. As painful as it was to admit the discomfort and isolation, it helped me see a slice of reality and to see how my sensory problems impacted the social ones.
  • I became the chameleon: This was a post I hadn’t planned to write, but reading over that sixth grade experience forced me to see what I was missing. And hearing from my mom of why couldn’t I talk to my parents made me reflect more, too.
  • Poetry philosophy: Show me, don’t tell me: This was a fascinating revelation. It really helped me better appreciate my writing style.
  • Kremin’s autobiography assignment: It was powerful to read over that 10th grade assignment and see the plans I had for myself. It amazed me to see how much I underestimated my writing ability.
  • Yearbooks: A lasting impression: It forced me to see how inaccurate my memory was. All those messages that people wrote for me, I don’t understand how I could shrug off every last one.
  • Broaden your view: This is a message that so many can relate to, but it was a powerful moment for me because I had to ask for help with the visual.
  • “Dispute”: I don’t think I can love a poem as much as I love this one. I liked it when it was written, but I’m falling in love with its imagery and depth.
  • Visible and invisible sides of Sensory Processing Disorder: It started out as “I need to recap where things stood before I launch into the college years” and became monumental in helping me piece everything together.
  • Addressing sensory issues: Am I sharing a problem or demanding others to change?: This was part of the drafts for Visible and Invisible, but I realized it needed to stand alone. This too is a game-changing revelation.

Ok, ok, that’s actually 11. I’ll consider it my top 10 posts and my favorite poem. What are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

